लिखिए अपनी भाषा में

Saturday, 28 January 2012

Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva - Bhole Nath

1. Somnath Jyotirlinga: Somnath Temple is dedicated to Someshwar, the Lord Shiva with Moon on his head. Somnath at Somnath Patan, near Veraval at Saurashtra in Gujarat is a pilgrimage center held in great reverence thoughout India. Somnath is considered to be the first of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva. Somnath is situated on the south coast of Saurashtra in Gujarat India. Somnath Jyotirlingas was established by Lord Moon (Soma). 2. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga: Shri Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is situated in Ujjain. It is a very important religious place for Lord Shiva devotees. Mahakaleshwar Temple is a famous shrine that comprises one of the twelve major Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva. Mahakaleshwar Temple is located on the banks of Rudra Sagar Lake of Ujjain in the state of Madhya Pradesh, India. The Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is situated below the ground in a Garbha Griha. This Jyotirlinga is big in size and is encircled by a silver snake. The glorious temple of Mahakaleshwar has been mentioned in several 'Puranas' (scriptures) of the Hindu mythology. Many poets of Sanskrit, including Kalidasa, have sung the praises of this temple. Lord Shiva is synonymous with 'Mahakal' and suggests the perpetual existence of the Almighty. 3. Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga: is associated with the legend of Shiva destroying the demon Tripurasura. Bhimashankar Temple is located in the village of Bhorgiri 50 KM north west of Khed (Rajguru Nagar) near Pune in India. Bhimashankar is also the source of the Bhima River, which flows south east and merges with the Krishna River near Raichur in Karnataka India. Amongst the 12 Jyotirlinga shrine of Lord Shiva in Maharashtra, the other jyotirlingas are Trimbakeshwar and Grishneshwar. Lord Shiva after getting angry, killed giant Tripurasura. The Heat generated from their war caused the origin of river Bhima. That is why it is called Bhimashankar. The Bhimshankar Temple is a composite of old and the new structures and is built in the Nagara style of architecture. 4. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga: Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga is an ancient of Hindu temple in the town in Trimbak in the Nashik District of Maharashtra India. It is simply approx 30 KM from the main city of Nashik Maharashtra India. It is located at the source of the Godavari River. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga is revered as one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Lord Shiva. According to Shiv Maha Purana, it is because of the earnest request of Godavari River, Gautam Rishi and other gods that Lord Shiva agreed to reside here and assumed the famous name Trimbakeshwar. All the heavenly Gods promised to come down to Nasik, once in twelve years, when Jupiter resides in the zodiac sign of Leo. On this a grand fair is organized at this place. Devotees take a holy bath in the Gautami Ganga and then seek the blessings of Trimbakeshwar. 5. Rameswaram Bhole Nath: Rameshwaram Jyotirlinga is one of the 12 jyotirlinga and located in Rameshwaram Town in Ramanathapuram District Tamil Nadu India. Rameshwaram Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva. The Temple is noted for its close association with Ramayan and the legendary victory of Lord Ram over demon King Ravan. According to a legend, Lord Rama worshiped Lord Shiva with his Wife Sita and brother Laxman in the form of a Shiva Lingam, while returning to Ayodhya after the legendary victory over demon Ravan. 6. Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga: Omkareshwar Temple is situated on the banks of the Narmada River; Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga is one of the 12 revered Jyotirlinga shrines of Lord Shiva. It is located in Khandwa District of Madhya Pradesh in India. It is on an island called Mandhata or Shivapuri in the Narmada River. Vindhya Parvat started worship of Lord Shiva to become greater than Meru and installed a Shiva Linga, named Omkareshwar. Omkareshwar Temple is formed by the sacred river Narmada. This is one of the most sacred of rivers in India. 7.Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga: Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga is one of the twelve jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva and most sacred abodes of shiva. It is located in Deoghar of Santhal Parganas division, Jharkhand India. It is also known as Baba Dham, Baidyanath Dham, Chitabhoomi and Hardapeetha. Some people thought believe Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga near Parali in Andhra Pradesh and according to other, it is located in Kiragram in Punjab and Dabhoi in Gujarat in India. Legend has it that Ravana meditated upon Shiva, and requested him to come over to Sri Lanka and Lord Shiva but Shiva Linga was placed on the ground permanently near Deoghar and known as Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga. 8. Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga: Mallikarjuna Swamy is one of the12 jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva, located at Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh. When Lord Kartikay ji enraged and went away to stay alone Mount Kravunja (Kronchgiri Parvat) caused lord Ganesh get married first. Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati went on that place, named Srisailam for pacify Lord Kartikay Ji (popular names like Skand, Shandmukh), he tried to move to another place. The place where Lord Siva and Parvathi stayed came to be known as Sri Sailam. Then, they disappeared and enter in a Shiva Linga, named Mallikarjuna. At First, Lord Kartikay Ji worshipped of that Lord Shiva Linga. 9. Kedarnath Jyotirlinga: Amongst the Twelve Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva, the one at Kedarnath is located in the snow covered area of Himalayas. Kedarnath Temple is set amidst the stunning mountains of the Garwal District of Himalayas at the head of Mandakini River in Uttar Pradesh, India. Kedar is another name of Lord Shiva, the protector & the destroyer. At the entrance of the temple, is the statue of Lord Nandi, the divine bull of Lord Shiva. 10. Vishwanath Jyotirlinga: Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga is located in the heart of the cultural capital of India, Vanarasi. It is also known as Kashi, the holiest pilgrimage place of India. It stands on the western bank of holiest river Ganga. Kashi or Banaras (Varanasi) is the ultimate destination of all Hindu pilgrimage searching for Moksha from the cycle of birth and re-birth. Vishwanath Temple is situated in the district of Varanasi of the state of Uttar Pradesh in India. Lord Shiva presence there in most enlightened form. 11. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga: Nageshwar Jyotirlinga situated near Dwarka in Gujarat, India. It is one of the 12 Jyotirlingas Shrines of Lord Shiva and known as Nageshwar Mahadev, is considered to protect everybody from all sort of poison. Nageshwar Temple is located between Dwarka and Dwarka Island (Daruka Van – old name according to Shiv Puran) in Gujarat on the coast of Surat. The Rudra Samhita sloka refers to Nageshwar with the phrase ‘Daarukaavane Naagesham’.Dwarka is one of the Sapta-puris or seven holy towns – Ayodhya, Mathura, Haridwar, Kasi, Ujjin, Kancipuram and Dwarka – and one of the four Dhamas or holy places – Ramesvaram, Puri, Badrinath and Dwarka. 12. Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga: Grishneshwar is the 12th Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva and it is located at distance of approx 11 km from Daulatabad in Aurangabad District of Maharashtra India. The Grishneswar temple was constructed by Ahilyabhai Holkar who also re-constructed the Kasi Viswanatha temple at Benares and the Vishnu Paada temple at Gaya. Grishneshwar is also known as Ghushmeshwar. The Lord is also known by several names like Kusumeswarar, Ghushmeswara, Grushmeswara, Grishneswara.